Mozambique: Maputo Hosts the Southern African Development Community Meetings

This week the Southern African Development Community (SADC) is meeting to discuss the problems facing the region as well as potential solutions for the success of the member nations’ future. The SADC is made up of 15 states: Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. The goal of this regional body is to help the entire region prosper by integrating with each other in political and economic capacities.

Specifically, the Committee of Finance and Investment Ministers from SADC met on Tuesday in Maputo in order to deliberate the ways in which they can secure new funds to promote development in the region. The Angolan Finance Minister, Carlos Alberto Lopes, is the acting chair of the committee. He spoke of the region’s need to continue complementary projects that will ultimately held reduce famine and poverty. The conclusions made by the representatives at the meeting are to be submitted to the Council of Ministers for review.

The SADC summit in Maputo will conclude on Friday with the Summit of SADC Heads of State and Government. This brings together all of the leaders of the member nations to discuss their combined future and the work of the SADC.

link to the article:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.