Standard Nigerian Languages to be Implemented in Schools

The Ministry of Education in Nigeria has decided to begin teaching four native languages in an effort to standardize speech throughout the country. They believe that this will help to progress Nigeria’s culture. These four languages are known as Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo, and Ijaw.

The diverse language regions in Nigeria

The decision comes from the belief that promoting a standardized language in a country leads to a more prominent and established culture. Having a standardized language will also result in a more influential and broadened culture throughout Nigeria.

Having four focused languages also adheres to the fact that Nigeria has multiple ethnicities throughout the country. Consequently, Nigeria’s literacy and education models must reflect the nation. The ultimate goal for this change is to promote a long-lasting Nigerian culture.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s